fifth final in ten editions after thriller against Juventus

fifth final in ten editions after thriller against Juventus
Erick Lamela in ecstasy after his equalizer against Juventus.

NOS Football

Whether they turn in a good season in Andalusia or dangle at the bottom of the Primera Divisíon, one thing is certain: when it comes to the prizes in the Europa League, Sevilla is there.

The current number ten of La Liga qualified for the final of the second European Cup tournament on Thursday night for the fifth time in the last 10 editions. After a true thriller, Sevilla beat Juventus 2-1 after extensions.

The outward game in Turin had ended 1-1.

Main role for Makkelie

Referee Danny Makkelie played a starring role at the end of the first half. After watching VAR images, the referee first disallowed a goal for Juventus due to offside. A few minutes later – after again watching video footage – he did not award a penalty kick to Sevilla after a wild tackle by Juan Cuadrado.

In the 65th minute, Dušan Vlahović, who had just entered the field, brought Juventus into the lead: 0-1. Shortly after, Suso made the equalizer with a beautiful pounder, ensuring the extension.

In the fifth minute of the first extension, Erik Lamela headed the ball behind goalkeeper Wojciech Szczęsny and helped Sevilla to a 2-1 lead. In the tumultuous remainder of the extension, Sevilla held firm against the increasingly frustrated Italians.

Former Premier League players Lucas Ocampos and Nemanja Gudelj celebrate reaching the final of the Europa League.

Referee Makkelie held his own in that closing stages with the help of a good number of yellow cards: Jorge Acuña was the most unfortunate recipient. The Argentine defender hesitated, partly because his teammates did not offer themselves long with throw-ins, and received his second yellow card for time-stretching. Acuña missed the final as a result.

Final against AS Roma

In the past decade, Sevilla ran away with the final victory in the Europa League four times. In 2006 and 2007, the team also won the UEFA Cup, the predecessor of the current Europa League.

Kayleigh Williams