Slot wins second consecutive Rinus Michels Awards for best coach in premier league

Slot wins second consecutive Rinus Michels Awards for best coach in premier league
Arne Slot with the championship trophy in 2023

NOS Football

Arne Slot has won the Rinus Michels Award for best coach of the premier league for the second year in a row. The Feyenoord coach captured the national title with the Rotterdam club this year. Last year the 44-year-old Slot also received the award after reaching the Conference League final with Feyenoord and finishing third in the premier league.

Slot held off Ron Jans (FC Twente), Pascal Jansen (AZ), and Joseph Oosting (RKC Waalwijk). The winner is chosen based on votes. All coaches in professional soccer get to choose who they thought was the best of the season.

  • ANP

    Guus Hiddink presents award to Arne Slot
  • ANP

    Guus Hiddink presents the award to Arne Slot. Dick Schreuder, Pascal Jansen and Ron Jans look on

Slot is the fourth coach to receive the award two consecutive years. Guus Hiddink won as coach of PSV in 2005 and 2006, Frank de Boer won as coach of Ajax in 2013 and 2014 and Erik ten Hag did it as Ajax coach in 2019 and 2021. In 2020, the award was not presented because of the league shut down by corona.

Schreuder best in first division

The award for best coach in the first division has gone to Dick Schreuder. The 51-year-old coach of PEC Zwolle, and brother of Alfred Schreuder, led the Zwolle club to second place in the second tier of the Netherlands.

Schreuder received more votes than John Lammers (Heracles Almelo) who became champion with the Almelo club, Alex Pastoor who surprisingly promoted with Almere City, Rob Penders (FC Eindhoven) and Maurice Verberne (MVV Maastricht).

Kayleigh Williams